Hall of Fame – Robert Swanson (2018)

Back to Hall of Fame List

Robert Swanson

Rock Island High School
Inducted 2018

Bob Swanson has been a member of the Illinois Athletic Directors Association for 16 years, beginning in 1998.  In that time frame, Bob had served the IADA as the member of the IADA conference committee for 8 years as Corporate Sponsor Chair, he also has been a mini session facilitator and presenter.

Prior to his 16 years in athletic administration, Bob was a teacher and debate coach at Maine East High School, leading them to a state title in 1972.  Bob left the educational field but returned in 1998 when he became the Athletic Director at Rock Island High School, which is a position he held until his retirement in 2014. Bob contributions to the community of Rock Island have been remarkable.  Bob has served on the Rock Island-Milan Board of Directors for Youth Football, Youth Basketball, and Booster Club.  Additionally, Bob has held leadership positions in the Rock Island Rotary Club, which he was awarded the A.T. Peara Award for Rotarian of the Year in 2014, and the Distinguished Service Award in 2012.  Bob was also president of Rock Island Exchange Club, and for 24 year he was chairman for the Rock Island Tailgate Fundraiser.

Thom Sigel, former boys’ basketball coach at Rock Island High School, said, “His loyalty to our school is almost unmatched.  His love for the Rocks was evident during our time working together.  He seemed to be at every event during every season.”

Retired Football coach from Rock Island High School, Vic Boblett, states that “The single trait, which distinguishes the great educator from the good one, is “caring.”  Bob truly cares and enjoyed working with young people and coaches.  Our young people and coaches were willing to take direction from Bob because they knew he had their best interest at heart.”

Bob’s extensive contributions to high school athletics and his dedication to the IADA are a few of the many reasons that led Bob to this selection as a member of the Illinois Athletic Directors Association Hall of Fame.