NIAAA Award Winners

NIAAA Hall of Fame

The NIAAA Hall of Fame was created to honor retired Athletic Administrators who had exemplary careers in athletic administration both prior to as well as after the formation of the NIAAA. Selection to the NIAAA Athletic Administrators Hall of Fame is a four step process including nomination, screened by the Hall of Fame Screening Committee, rated by the NIAAA Selection Committee and finally, the NIAAA Board of Directors selects those individuals to be inducted.

Year Name School/District
2010 Don Sparks MSHSAA

NIAAA Award of Merit

The NIAAA Award of Merit is the most prestigious of the three single annual NIAAA awards.  Recipients are selected by the Board of directors for their distinguished service to the NIAAA.

Year Name School/District
2015 Rich Bechard Lee’s Summit School District


NIAAA State Award of Merit
Year Name School/district

Presented to a MIAAA member in conjunction with the NIAAA for outstanding leadership and meritorious achievement in athletic administration

1987     Dr. Al Burr Clayton
1988     Tom Fling Lee’s Summit
1989     Roger Estes Mehlville
1990     Edsel Matthews Springfield
1991      Gerald Linneman Parkway Schools
1992     Jim Scanlan, CAA Washington
1993     Vernon “Hap” Whitney Columbia
1994     Joe Pawlowicz Parkway South
1995     Jerry Burbes, CAA Francis Howell
1996     Rusty Shelley, CAA Joplin Schools
1997     Del Rinne Union
1998     Frank Schultz, CAA Hillsboro
1999     Jim Gagen, CAA Marquette
2000    Roger Hodapp, CAA Francis Howell
2001     Marty O’Hern, CMAA Eureka
2002     Darwin Rold, CMAA Lee’s Summit
2003     Doug Potts, CMAA Bolivar
2004     Mike Gohn, CAA Parkway Schools
2005     Kent Gibbs, CMAA Frederictown
2006     Harold Albin, CMAA Raytown Schools
2007     Marlin Hammond, CAA Lincoln
2008     Tim Thompson Jefferson City
2009     Tim Crone, CMAA Blue Springs
2010     Thaddeus Hamilton, CAA Jefferson Jr. High
2011      Sharon Cole, CMAA Blue Springs
2012     Sam Dunlap, CAA St. Louis Schools
2013     Jeff Whitney, CAA Camdenton
2014     Don Rothermich, CAA Parkway Schools
2015     Mark Mundell Staley

2016     Todd Schrader, CAA  Bolivar High School

NIAAA Distinguished Service Award


Presented by the NIAAA to recipients in recognition of their length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to athletic administration at the local, state and national levels.

1979    Don Sparks MSHSAA
1992    Dick Fawcett Kansas City
1994    Roger Estes Mehlville
1998    Tim Flannery, CMAA Kansas City
2006   Marty O’Hern, CMAA Eureka
2014    Marlin Hammond, CAA Lincoln
2015    Jim Gagen, CAA Marquette

NFHS Citation Award


NFHS Citations are awarded to individuals whose contributions have impacted high school activity programs through their association with one of the following groups of professionals:  state association and NFHS staff, athletic directors, coaches, officials, music adjudicators and directors, and speech, debate and theatre directors.

1972     Don Sparks Parkway
1977     W.O. Pottenger Springfield
1982     Tony Lema Lindbergh
1985     Tom Flint, CAA Lee’s Summit
1990     Rodger Estes Mehlville
1993     Claire Jullian Kansas City
200       Jim Gagen, CAA Marquette
2000    Susan Weaver Kansas City
2001     Frank Schultz, CMAA Hillsboro
2002    Darwin Rold, CMAA Lee’s Summit
2015     Dory Smith, CMAA